Run 6d7c82adf5764a69 · 2026-10-18T13:26:43 · END
The verified claims do not establish the current official stable Python release, its version number, or its release date. The only verified claims concern a pre-release version and general support policy. ✓ evidence:fa7518cd3ded The question therefore remains unanswered on the basis of verified material.
No supported claim identifies the version number of the latest official stable release. The one version-specific supported claim concerns Python 3.16, which is listed as a pre-release, not a stable release. ✓ evidence:fa7518cd3ded
No supported claim gives a release date for a stable version. The only date in the verified set is a planned date of 2027-10-06 for Python 3.16, a pre-release. ✓ evidence:fa7518cd3ded Because this is a planned date for a pre-release, it cannot be used as the release date of a stable version.
No supported claim confirms which stable version is most recent as of retrieval. For support status, the verified claim is general: once a version has been fully released, bug fixes and security fixes are accepted for it. ✓ evidence:6aa94b47e747 This statement does not name a specific version, so it does not establish the support status of any particular release.
Download Python | Python.org · Trust 85%
Status of Python versions · Trust 60%
Evidence 9d92d6a1bb00 directly maps to the core content of the claim. It shows a release table with the entry 'Python 3.15.0' and the release date 'Oct. 9, 2026'. Two components are not verified. First, the passage does not show a domain, so the attribution 'on python.org' depends on source metadata (5e26c0e7f701) that was not presented as evidence. Second, the present-tense 'lists' is not anchored by a capture timestamp, so current state cannot be confirmed. The table content itself is well supported.
Missing: Evidence establishing that the table is hosted on python.org (visible URL or domain in the passage or its source metadata), and a capture or retrieval timestamp showing the table's current state.
Evidence 19ff4bec51d1 states that Python releases are listed on 'the downloads page', which supports the general component that releases are listed on a downloads page. The specific domain 'python.org' is not stated in the passage. The passage also uses 'now', which signals a dated or changed state, while the claim is phrased as a timeless fact. The passage comes from a different source (64df2fd63c99), and it is not shown to be the same page as the release table in 9d92d6a1bb00.
Missing: Evidence that the downloads page is on python.org, evidence linking source 64df2fd63c99 to the same site as the release table, and a timestamp or framing that supports the timeless 'are listed' phrasing.
Both pieces of evidence show that Python 3.15.0 is associated with a 'Release date' of Oct. 9, 2026, which supports the date entry. The claim goes further. It asserts a completed past-tense release event on that date. The evidence shows only a listed date, not an actual release event. The 'Download' and 'Release notes' links suggest availability, but their functionality and go-live dates are not shown. There is no capture timestamp, so the date could be scheduled rather than actual. Both items come from the same source (5e26c0e7f701), so they do not independently corroborate each other.
Missing: A capture timestamp after October 9, 2026, or other independent confirmation that the release was published on that date, plus an independent second source. Verification that the Download link is functional would also help.
The string 2026-10-09 appears in evidence d9caabd446e3, so the date value is verified. The label 'release date' is not stated in the passage. It is inferred from the fragment's position in a table with no column headers. The prosecution's objection that the association is positional is not rebutted by the defense, which concedes the inference. The claim also presents the date as settled, although the evidence is an undated snapshot and does not establish that the date is fixed.
Missing: A source with explicit column headers or text identifying 2026-10-09 as the release date. A retrieval date or version for source 5e26c0e7f701, which the prosecution cites but the defense does not present. Wording that frames the date as scheduled or planned rather than certain.
The passage places 'bugfix' directly adjacent to '3.15', which is the strongest adjacency among the three claims. However, the passage does not use the word 'phase', does not define the status type, and carries no timestamp. The present-tense 'is' depends on an undated snapshot, and the passage does not establish the phase boundaries the claim implies.
Missing: Explicit text stating that Python 3.15 is in the bugfix phase or status. A dated source. A definition of the bugfix phase or the status taxonomy used.
The string 2031-10 appears in evidence d9caabd446e3, so the value is verified. The label 'end-of-support' is not in the passage. The association is positional, placed after the date column, and the defense concedes it is not stated explicitly. The claim also implies a fixed commitment, which the undated fragment does not establish.
Missing: A source explicitly labeling 2031-10 as the end-of-support or end-of-life date. A dated source confirming the schedule. Clarification of whether the date is a commitment or an estimate.
The release-table row places 'PEP 790' in the same row as '3.15', so the association between 3.15 and PEP 790 is verified. The defense concedes that the link is inferred from table structure rather than stated. The prosecution correctly notes that the row does not say PEP 790 is the documentation for 3.15, and that PEP 790 is a release-schedule document. The phrase 'documented under' therefore overstates what the row shows. No evidence directly contradicts the association itself.
Missing: An explicit statement that PEP 790 governs or documents the 3.15 release, a retrieval date for the snapshot, and confirmation of whether other documentation (What's New, devguide) exists.
The passage directly states that 'the main branch is currently the future Python 3.16, and is the only branch that accepts new features.' Both substantive components of the claim map closely to this text. However, the passage does not name the CPython repository, so that identification is inferred. The claim also drops the 'currently' qualifier, making it an undated present-tense assertion from a single source of unestablished date and authority. The prosecution's scope objection about maintenance branches is a weakness in phrasing, not a contradiction, since the source itself uses the absolute wording.
Missing: Explicit confirmation that the source refers to the CPython repository, the source's date or retrieval date, and corroboration from a second source.
The row '3.16 / pre-release / Download / 2027-10-06 (planned)' directly shows the 3.16 version labeled pre-release and a planned date of 2027-10-06. The claim does not specify which milestone the date belongs to, so the unlabeled date column does not create a mismatch with the claim as written. The prosecution's concerns about column labeling and snapshot currency are valid limitations but do not contradict the stated facts.
Missing: A column header or legend confirming that the date refers to the pre-release milestone, and a retrieval date to establish that the snapshot is current.
The defense passage states, nearly verbatim, that once a version has been fully released, bug fixes and security fixes are accepted. The only wording difference is 'a version' versus 'a Python version.' The defense argues, with reasonable support from the source being a Python release-status page, that the referent is the same. The prosecution's objections concern scope: that the claim implies generality beyond the bugfix phase, implies indefinite coverage, or treats 'accepted' as a guarantee of delivery. The claim as written does not say any of these things. It says only that fixes are accepted after full release, which the passage establishes. The prosecution's concerns are better addressed as caveats than as failures of the literal claim. The passage is undated, so the policy's currency is not verified.
Missing: An as-of date or retrieval date for the release-status page. Optionally, a passage on the end-of-life policy to bound the time frame, if the claim is meant to imply ongoing support.
The table row verifiably supports two components: the version identifier '3.14' and the status value 'bugfix.' The third component, that 2030-10 is the end-of-support date, rests on inference. The excerpt has no column headers, so the label 'end-of-support' is not explicitly stated in the passage. The row could also represent end-of-life or another milestone. The defense concedes this gap. The present-tense phrasing 'is in the bugfix phase' also lacks an as-of date, so currency is unconfirmed. The prosecution's point that 2030-10 is a scheduled projection rather than a firm commitment is a valid qualifier that the claim omits.
Missing: The table's column headers or an explicit statement that 2030-10 is the end-of-support date. An as-of date confirming that 3.14 is currently in the bugfix phase. Ideally, a labeled source (for example, the PEP or the release-schedule text) that defines the column meanings.
| Title | URL | Trust | Hash |
|---|---|---|---|
| Download Python | Python.org | https://www.python.org/downloads/… | 85% | 9df400ae |
| Status of Python versions | https://devguide.python.org/versions/… | 60% | 60af1e80 |
| Releases | Python.org | https://www.python.org/download/releases… | 70% | 404a77da |
Evidence: 3 · Sources: 2 · Verified claims: 0 · Contradictions: 0
Evidence: 3 · Sources: 2 · Verified claims: 0 · Contradictions: 0
Evidence: 5 · Sources: 2 · Verified claims: 0 · Contradictions: 0
No contradictions detected.
Criteria: A specific version number (e.g., X.Y.Z) is identified from python.org's official downloads page or release listings, with the source URL and retrieval date noted. Pre-release, beta, and release-candidate versions are excluded.
Criteria: A calendar date is confirmed from an official Python source, such as the python.org release page, the release announcement, or the Python Developer's Guide release schedule, for the exact version identified in the first subquestion. The date should be cited with its source.
Criteria: The evidence confirms that no newer final (non-pre-release) Python version has been published as of the date checked, using python.org or the Python Developer's Guide. Any newer patch or feature release is identified, or the absence of one is documented with the date of verification.
| Run ID | 6d7c82adf5764a69 |
| Question | What is the current official Python stable release and its release date? |
| Timestamp | 2026-10-18T13:29:21.687978+00:00 |
| Models | anthropic/claude-haiku-5.5 |
| Sources | 3 |
| Evidence | 11 |
| Claims Drafted | 11 |
| Supported | 2 |
| Rejected | 9 |
| Contradictions | 0 |
| Groundedness Rate | 18.2% |
| Research Rounds | 1 |
This is a DeepDive Verification Certificate. It does not imply certification by any external authority.